my unconference at BarCamp

Here are my notes for the ‘unconference’ I gave at the Delhi Barcamp. The title of the talk was ‘Mobile India: Status check‘. I was initially looking for someone to join me but somehow thanks to the exciting folks out at Barcamp I was able to lead the 30 mins session very easily. It was one of the ‘proper’ unconference session :-). I felt like it was one of the sessions I had at tagcamp where lots of people presenting just had an idea, lots of doubts and everyone went out learning and knowing more things …

I lead the discussion with the following mindmap image (view image in separate page) and a powerpoint. The sources for the presentation were mainly – MTC corp’s report on socio-economic impact in the arab world and the mobile relevant presentations at IMAI’s Digital Summit 2006

The first 15 mins were spent talking using a ppt regaring how the arab world and india will differ. I focussed more on split between incoming vs outgoing % split, the distribution of number of handsets vs cost of handsets, mobile facts in India.
BarCamp Delhi.jpeg
I have created a wiki page for this seesion. People can either add on on that wiki page or add comments to this post.

Discussion also ensued about Nurmber portability and even MVNO. I came to know personally that Indian regulations dont allow the MVNO concept ( I will have to check on that ). Also had talk on GPRS services on the phone and how mobile phones will help Indian economy.

Then wrapped up by showing a demo of m.mytoday.com (mobile version) in my wml browser – the web version is available at www.mytoday.com. I have pretty recently been working on this product with the Mytoday team as a content editor and product manager. Looking for feed back on both the versions. flickr and fun are two dailies I enjoy more on the phone. You can also see my daily in that. More about my today here at mobilepundit. We are looking for reading lists of people. If you would like your own daily and don’t mind sharing it with people – do leave a comment to this post with contact email / public url or mail me!

All in all – Delhi Barcamp was really nice. As the main page of barcamp says – “Thanks for making BarCampDelhi a thumping success ! We had 25 sessions & 70 campers turning up for the event. Congratulations to all for a smashing debut for BarCamp in Asia.”
Met lot of cool people, fellow bloggers, fellow flickrers! Saw some cool demos, enjoyed the lovely Adobe campus, ejoyed delhi in general. Would’ve have loved to ‘camp’ really overnight and network more. Hopefully there is some real camping next time. There was this definite talk and spirit to have the next one in Pune / Bangalore. I think we might have one in Mumbai too! BTW any players for Mobile Monday – Bombay chapter?And yeah, poor me missed out on the booze session – new came to know about it!

One thought on “my unconference at BarCamp

Leave a Reply

