Relaxing at Home

Home, sweet home

I am still getting used to these 6 day weeks in India. There are three modes of working in India on weekends:

1. Like, my current company and as most companies. Either have 2 alternate saturdays in a month OFF and have the other two saturdays WORKING!
2. Have all saturdays as half days!
3. Have all saturdays OFF – some you lucky ones!! 🙂

I have been used to having only FIVE day weeks right from my school days, my IIT days and then Berkeley and even my job in the US. Now coming back after more than 10 years and working two full days out of the four saturdays in a month is really tiring!

Personally, the two sundays (which come in between the 6 + 5 day weeks) are used up in sleeping and recharging your batteries for the rest of the week! Now, how do you find time for relaxing, personal hobbies, those weekend trips?, meeting friends, spending time with family (common if all you are doing is sleeping, blogging etc .. during a Sunday), my volunteering efforts!

I feel the need for these extra two days to ‘spice’ up my life! I love my new job. But somehow, I just need my saturdays 😀 Next week is a short week – Jan 26th republic day and then saturday and sunday are off. I am going to catch up with the blog readings, take my mom and sis out, do some video editing, blow up some pics for my living room, try some podcasts …. wow I have my handful already!! Have a good week folks …

Published by: vinu

My life - BREESY! :-) :D Beautiful Random Enjoyable Eventful Simple Yellow Places I have lived (chronological): (country) (- state) (-- city) India - (Orissa) -- Cuttack (2yrs) -- Bhubaneshwar (3yrs) - (Maharastra) -- Bombay/Mumbai (8 + 1 yrs) - (TamilNadu) -- Madras/Chennai (6 yrs) - (Pondicherry) (1 yr) United States - (California) -- Berkeley (3 yrs) Education : IIT Madras 02, UC Berkeley 05 Work Experience: Mechanical Engineer at FORD Motor Company, India; Management Trainee at Datamatics Technologies Ltd.; Wireless Programmer at TeleCommunication Systems Inc. Passions (currently as of Dec 2005): Family, Media (visual / audio), Mobile Systems, Internet, Design Interests: Music, Movies, Photography, Enjoying nature, Playing Violin, Graphics, Business / Entrepreneurship / Managments, Spirituality, Design, Technology, Mobile / Wireless

Categories creativity, fluidframe, india, me4 Comments

4 thoughts on “Relaxing at Home”

  1. true true 🙂 i would hate to work on saturdays! (I work in Delhi btw, and it’s much more relaxed than Bombay, where I worked a few months back) In Bombay it’s the norm to work 6 day weeks…not so in Delhi. Which city are you based in?

  2. Pingback: varnam

Leave a Reply

