Paulo Coelho

Today’s Indian Express ‘again’ had a wonderful editorial. I should say my father made the right decision by changing the newspaper. I am reading quality content! Today’s main article was an interview with ‘Paulo Coelho‘ (more on wikipedia).

I am just highlighting the important things from the article “Death’s going to kiss me. Every single day I know she’s by my side“. I have read “The Alchemist” by Paulo Coelho. But reading the interview made me think may be Paulo Coelho is also bipolar? (even I suffer from bipolar disorder). I did a google search and came across another famous book he has written “Veronika Decides to Die” (collective madness is called sanity). But nowhere has it been mentioned that he suffers from one. So, I guess may be he knows someone who suffers from it as what he says in the interview is something I can relate to easily. List of celebrities who suffer from bipolar disorder. To name a few: Ted Turner, Winston Churchill, Vincent Van Gogh ….

Quotes from the article:

One of my most famous songs — I was a lyricist before I became a writer — was based on the Bhagavad Gita. It’s called Gita, and in Brazil it sold about five million copies… something you find in India. You find a very spiritual life, an intensely spiritual life; you can see people there totally concerned with what I consider to be the next step of humankind, and that is spirituality.

… thank God, I did not quit. I had a dream; for many, many years I tried to deny this dream, I tried to say that it wasn’t possible. Then, there was a moment in my life when I was 38. I had nearly everything, love, money, a house, but I was not happy. Then came the turning point. I said, why am I unhappy? I am unhappy because I am not doing what I want to do and that was to write.

But it was an accumulation of conflicts, of course. I have been to a mental institution three times. It was very bad for me, but I always saw it as a kind of challenge. …. because from that very moment I started to fight for my space, I knew what I wanted. I had to prove to myself that I knew what I wanted and I did. And that is how I am here talking to you …if you ask me, did this help you to be the writer you are today? No. The mental institution, you know, when you are there and you see people who are different and you are facing something that is made out of love, probably it can help you. But in the jails, they are only trying to suppress you as a human being, to put you in a state of fear.

But I am not only answering you, I am trying to give my best because I know my responsibility as a human being, because I know death is there. The man behind the man, in my case, I don’t know really. I am still a mystery to myself. I am a very emotional person, yes; sometimes I am very calm and sometimes I am a warrior — it’s the same contradiction that you see in nature.

pc1.jpg pc2.jpg

(pics from wikipedia and Indian Express)

Published by: vinu

My life - BREESY! :-) :D Beautiful Random Enjoyable Eventful Simple Yellow Places I have lived (chronological): (country) (- state) (-- city) India - (Orissa) -- Cuttack (2yrs) -- Bhubaneshwar (3yrs) - (Maharastra) -- Bombay/Mumbai (8 + 1 yrs) - (TamilNadu) -- Madras/Chennai (6 yrs) - (Pondicherry) (1 yr) United States - (California) -- Berkeley (3 yrs) Education : IIT Madras 02, UC Berkeley 05 Work Experience: Mechanical Engineer at FORD Motor Company, India; Management Trainee at Datamatics Technologies Ltd.; Wireless Programmer at TeleCommunication Systems Inc. Passions (currently as of Dec 2005): Family, Media (visual / audio), Mobile Systems, Internet, Design Interests: Music, Movies, Photography, Enjoying nature, Playing Violin, Graphics, Business / Entrepreneurship / Managments, Spirituality, Design, Technology, Mobile / Wireless

Categories bipolar, indiaLeave a comment

Leave a Reply

