tag and human based search …

I am learning CSS. Rather hacking my way through it … (Apart from my first year Mechanical Engineering subjects in my undergrad I think I have never learnt anything properly! ha ha that is better left for some other post 😉 )
Coming back CSS stands for Cascading Style sheets. More on CSS.

This makes me think – how does one go about learning something on the net nowadays? There are lot of ways I know. Do add in the comments on your thoughts:

  • Google
  • Wikipedia
  • technorati
  • del.icio.us

The del.icio.us – is something new I have started to value more and more!
The popular feature in del.icio.us is very useful – http://del.icio.us/popular/css

You can see once you click on the link how many people have bookmarked what link and hence the popularity and in a mild the importance of the human based search. I have slowly started to believe as the % of live content on the web due to blogs starts increasing it is this kind of tag based, human based search that is going to dominate!

Extending this concept a bit more (tags, humans) + clusters i.e recommendations looking at my searches and the tags people have given and then looking at a related set of tags and similar people – I am very sure I will effectively get to resource on the net I am looking for.
What I am saying is for search both are needed! tags, humans and clustering (at both levels tag and human level). More parameters like ‘mindset’ also comes into play i.e in this specific case I am looking to learn! Not explore. So, I need articles that are more structured and clear and descriptive. the google based algorithm that more links are there the better is really faulty!

Published by: vinu

My life - BREESY! :-) :D Beautiful Random Enjoyable Eventful Simple Yellow Places I have lived (chronological): (country) (- state) (-- city) India - (Orissa) -- Cuttack (2yrs) -- Bhubaneshwar (3yrs) - (Maharastra) -- Bombay/Mumbai (8 + 1 yrs) - (TamilNadu) -- Madras/Chennai (6 yrs) - (Pondicherry) (1 yr) United States - (California) -- Berkeley (3 yrs) Education : IIT Madras 02, UC Berkeley 05 Work Experience: Mechanical Engineer at FORD Motor Company, India; Management Trainee at Datamatics Technologies Ltd.; Wireless Programmer at TeleCommunication Systems Inc. Passions (currently as of Dec 2005): Family, Media (visual / audio), Mobile Systems, Internet, Design Interests: Music, Movies, Photography, Enjoying nature, Playing Violin, Graphics, Business / Entrepreneurship / Managments, Spirituality, Design, Technology, Mobile / Wireless

Categories future, internet, technologyLeave a comment

Leave a Reply

