Indian mobile customer scenario

Sunil from Wirkle talks about his woes as a mobile customer. He is part of a mobile company start up – so I understand he has connections from all the operators in India. Only if you are in India can you really appreciate this statement šŸ™‚ :

If sending arbitirary SMSes to promote ringtones doesn’t end, these
guys have started the process of automated voice calls. You get a ring,
you pick up your phone – just to hear an automated voice call
describing you a new service and then you feel like killing all these
mobile operator guys.

And then lot of sales calls – from credit card, loans and from mobile
operator representatives themselves trying to get hold of consumers
from other operators. I have recieved lot of calls from Hutch, Airtel
representatives in the past asking me to switch plans.

Last week I recieved another call (you see I recieve so many calls!!)
from customer care to subscribe to caller tones and that too for
“FREE”. That’s how they sell. I told them I just don’t want the
service, not even if you pay me for that. But that annoying guy put an
annoying caller tone on my mobile and now I am fighting another battle
with customer care of Idea to get this off my phone.

ha ha! He is frustrated and irritated yet dependent on the operators.

Customer service‘ is ‘zilch’ in India. This one of the main reasons why there is a dire need ‘Number Portability‘. Only then the operators will come at the mercy of customers untill then its going to be the other way around.

I have two interesting incidents personally.

First, One of my office colleagues got a new SIM from ‘Airtel’ and he had not yet given the number to anyone of us. In the middle of the meeting he gets a call … guess what? Its a BPL guy asking him whether he wants a free SIM šŸ˜€

Second, I live in Colaba – almost at the southern tip of Bombay. There is something really vague in my house. when I come out of my lift to the main door – Airtel informs me I am on Roaming šŸ˜€ (on Idea cellular network). {I get an sms} I enter my hall and sit down to remove my shoes – I get another sms information i am back in airtel! I go look out of my window – I get another sms informing I am roaming and another sms once I am in my bedroom! I get 4 sms daily from Airtel telling me I am roaming – I am not roaming šŸ™‚

Published by: vinu

My life - BREESY! :-) :D Beautiful Random Enjoyable Eventful Simple Yellow Places I have lived (chronological): (country) (- state) (-- city) India - (Orissa) -- Cuttack (2yrs) -- Bhubaneshwar (3yrs) - (Maharastra) -- Bombay/Mumbai (8 + 1 yrs) - (TamilNadu) -- Madras/Chennai (6 yrs) - (Pondicherry) (1 yr) United States - (California) -- Berkeley (3 yrs) Education : IIT Madras 02, UC Berkeley 05 Work Experience: Mechanical Engineer at FORD Motor Company, India; Management Trainee at Datamatics Technologies Ltd.; Wireless Programmer at TeleCommunication Systems Inc. Passions (currently as of Dec 2005): Family, Media (visual / audio), Mobile Systems, Internet, Design Interests: Music, Movies, Photography, Enjoying nature, Playing Violin, Graphics, Business / Entrepreneurship / Managments, Spirituality, Design, Technology, Mobile / Wireless

Categories india, mobile2 Comments

2 thoughts on “Indian mobile customer scenario”

Leave a Reply

