ways to reduce stress

Being bipolar has made me realize that I need to manage stress at an optimum level for my own good. More than threshold and I freak out; less than a particular there ain’t any chemicals kick me to me creative (loose interest in life

Pictures 012
Came across 52 ways to reduce stress and I am just highlighting the ones I totally relate to and think are implortant (my comments):

  1. Don’t rely on your memory. Write down appointment times, when to pick up the laundry, when library books are due, etc (Getting Things done technique – I am yet to read the book!)
  2. Be prepared to wait. A paperback can make a wait in a post office line almost pleasant. (A mobile with GPRS connection comes handy in here!)
  3. Eliminate (or restrict) the amount of caffeine in your diet. (Increase the amount of water you drink – have half a bottle especially when you come to office)
  4. Relax your standards. The world will not end if the grass doesn’t get mowed this weekend. (Don’t be a perfectionist all the time)
  5. Ask questions. Taking a few moments to repeat back directions, what someone expects of you, etc., can save hours. (SLOW DOWN!)
  6. Say “No!” Saying “no” to extra projects, social activities, and invitations you know you don’t have the time or energy for takes practice, self-respect, and a belief that everyone, everyday, needs quiet time to relax and be alone
  7. Turn “needs” into preferences. Our basic physical needs translate into food, water, and keeping warm. Everything else is a preference. Don’t get attached to preferences
  8. Simplify, simplify, simplify. . . (Try your best 😉 )
  9. Make friends with non-worriers. Nothing can get you into the habit of worrying faster than associating with chronic worrywarts (This really helps! Believe me …)
  10. Create order out of chaos. Organize your home and workspace so that you always know exactly where things are. Put things away where they belong and you won’t have to go through the stress of losing things (I have reached OCD levels on this 😛 )
  11. Writing your thoughts and feelings down (in a journal, or on paper to be thrown away) can help you clarify things and can give you a renewed perspective (start a BLOG like this one! 65% of blogs started are for therapuetic reasons – thats a fact!!)
  12. Talk it out. Discussing your problems with a trusted friend can help clear your mind of confusion so you can concentrate on problem solving. (Join Support GROUPS – my 100 odd sessions at Bipolar Supports Groups really healped in lots of ways)
  13. Every day, do something you really enjoy (Life is short)
  14. Do something for somebody else (Stop being self-centered – somebody is gotta need your help!)
  15. Become more flexible. Some things are worth not doing perfectly and some issues are fine to compromise upon. (Have buffer time!!)
  16. Use your weekend time for a change of pace. If your work week is slow and patterned, make sure there is action and time for spontaneity built into your weekends. (Everbody needs a change)
  17. Do one thing at a time. When you are with someone, be with that person and with no one or nothing else. When you are busy with a project, concentrate on doing that project and forget about everything else you have to do (Focus – drop you IM, mobile especially!)
  18. Have a forgiving view of events and people. Accept the fact that we live in an imperfect world (To Err is HUMAN!)

Perplexed Abhay
The ones I want to do but I am far or getting there (my comments):

  1. Get up fifteen minutes earlier in the morning. The inevitable morning mishaps will be less stressful (I just cannot do it!)
  2. Unplug your phone. Want to take a long bath, meditate, sleep, or read without interruption? Drum up the courage to temporarily disconnect. (Consider using a Voice Mail)
  3. Get enough sleep. If necessary, use an alarm clock to remind you to go to bed (I hate some automated machine reminding me when to get up aargh!)
  4. One of the most obvious ways to avoid unnecessary stress is to select an environment (work, home, leisure) which is in line with your personal needs and desires. If you hate desk jobs, don’t accept a job which requires that you sit at a desk all day. If you hate to talk politics, don’t associate with people who love to talk politics, etc. (my work life is not in order need to sort it out!)
  5. Learn to live one day at a time (I am aiming to live for the moment – may be my aim is too high)
  6. Allow yourself time – everyday – for privacy, quiet, and introspection (Treat yourself – you are the most important person! Everything is else is secondary)
  7. Have an optimistic view of the world. Believe that most people are doing the best they can (I am still trying my best on that!)

Other things I would suggest:

  1. Take a Break – Go travelling or Go indulge in some kewl ethnic food => breaking awaya helps you put things in perspective
  2. Spend time with people you care – you draw in positive energy from them
  3. Reflect and see if you are living your life in line with your priorities!

God of little things!
South India on wheels

Published by: vinu

My life - BREESY! :-) :D Beautiful Random Enjoyable Eventful Simple Yellow Places I have lived (chronological): (country) (- state) (-- city) India - (Orissa) -- Cuttack (2yrs) -- Bhubaneshwar (3yrs) - (Maharastra) -- Bombay/Mumbai (8 + 1 yrs) - (TamilNadu) -- Madras/Chennai (6 yrs) - (Pondicherry) (1 yr) United States - (California) -- Berkeley (3 yrs) Education : IIT Madras 02, UC Berkeley 05 Work Experience: Mechanical Engineer at FORD Motor Company, India; Management Trainee at Datamatics Technologies Ltd.; Wireless Programmer at TeleCommunication Systems Inc. Passions (currently as of Dec 2005): Family, Media (visual / audio), Mobile Systems, Internet, Design Interests: Music, Movies, Photography, Enjoying nature, Playing Violin, Graphics, Business / Entrepreneurship / Managments, Spirituality, Design, Technology, Mobile / Wireless

Categories bipolar, Blogosphere, life, me, mobile, photo, tools4 Comments

4 thoughts on “ways to reduce stress”

  1. Good list.
    #5 doesn’t really mean ‘SLOW DOWN’. It’s more about clarifying things and not making assumptions. Often we assume that we know things we don’t or understand things as soon as someone tells us, but we don’t really get it.

  2. For many years I experienced several life threatening chronic illnesses. Through the Grace of God I was lead to several people and organizations that aided me in understanding, positively dealing with and transforming these illnesses. For the past few years I have devoted my life to sharing what I have learned with others. The two most impactful organizations I was lead to are The Institute of HeartMath (www.emotionalmastery.com) and Landmark Education (www.landmarkeducation.com).

    The American Institute of Stress and The Centers for Disease Control have both reported that up to 90% of all illnesses are due to stress. I was lead to The Institute of HeartMath in 1997 and discovered that all of my illnesses were due to stress I had been experiencing in my life. Through learning and practicing HeartMath’s tools and technologies, I am able to prevent, manage and reverse the effects of stress, in-the-moment, achieve better health, more energy, improved mental and emotional clarity, and improved performance and relationships. HeartMath’s tools and technologies are scientifically substantiated; they literally saved my life.

    Landmark Education provided me with the knowledge and tools to identify and put in my past, barriers that were stopping me from living a powerful life and a life I love. Through this Education, I have reached an unshakeable Faith.

  3. When there is a disparity between the
    actual experience and a person’s
    expectations, a person experiences
    stress. If the person does not have very
    high expectations, he or she may not
    experience stress. I found informations
    at http://mshn.org/

Leave a Reply

