Mobile SMS Communities …

Four months back having quit Netcore, I volunteered to a Spastic School for children. Was talking to them how they could use MyToday‘s SMS group service for ‘volunteer teacher’ allocation. Something that is a need of the hour to them, sadly never got to convince them to use it. However, one of them referred me to Pagalguy.com – one of the largest communities in India. She said her daughter Sonam works there and I should check them out.

Next day I had a chat with them on phone and met them in 3 to 4 days. I met Apurva – their editor and the founder Angel Alwin after a month or so. The entire team – Rohit, Bijay, Eka (ex-employee) and Rajat (new entree) are a real cool bunch! Check their blog.

Just a nice office, lovely bunch of people. Continued to interact / help / learn with them when I was working at ICICI. As an offshoot of the time I spent – I think I helped them convince SMS and GPRS would be key enablers for their growth and as a result they experimented a SMS stuff with MyToday. A news article at Time of India outlines it:

Pagalguy.com, the country’s largest community of MBA’s and MBA-aspirants plans to launch their GPRS-based mobile community in a month. But as of right now, they have launched a simple SMS-based service.

Here you can send an SMS to a single number and all the people that have subscribed to their service gets the same SMS. Apurv Pandit, editor of Pagalguy says that members are using this service to arrange real-world meetings and discuss various topics relevant to MBA graduates. This service is fairly simple and doesn’t require the use of web site and can be operated with any phone that can send an SMS

Will blog a bit more about my experience with them soon. Its amazing how much you can learn from a buzzing teens community in India. There is lot of insight to learn. Though I have moved to Bangalore, I hope I will continue to be associated with them on and off.

Update: A pic of the article – life size pic to read.

The entire article at ETarticle related to SMS Mobs in ET

Published by: vinu

My life - BREESY! :-) :D Beautiful Random Enjoyable Eventful Simple Yellow Places I have lived (chronological): (country) (- state) (-- city) India - (Orissa) -- Cuttack (2yrs) -- Bhubaneshwar (3yrs) - (Maharastra) -- Bombay/Mumbai (8 + 1 yrs) - (TamilNadu) -- Madras/Chennai (6 yrs) - (Pondicherry) (1 yr) United States - (California) -- Berkeley (3 yrs) Education : IIT Madras 02, UC Berkeley 05 Work Experience: Mechanical Engineer at FORD Motor Company, India; Management Trainee at Datamatics Technologies Ltd.; Wireless Programmer at TeleCommunication Systems Inc. Passions (currently as of Dec 2005): Family, Media (visual / audio), Mobile Systems, Internet, Design Interests: Music, Movies, Photography, Enjoying nature, Playing Violin, Graphics, Business / Entrepreneurship / Managments, Spirituality, Design, Technology, Mobile / Wireless

Categories genZ, india, internet, me, mobile, sms, technology4 Comments

4 thoughts on “Mobile SMS Communities …”

  1. cool idea vinu,
    I have just subscribed to pagalmumbai sms group. I have lot of old buddies on PG.
    I would like to know more about your new venture though

    Regards,
    Ketan

Leave a Reply

