networking type?

I added 3 more feeds to my reader and droped around 10 this week. I am finally catching up with the reading. Still have many unreads but its less than a thousand 🙂 The three feeds are:

I am changing from reading common lots of feeds to selective personal blogs. Guess its change in the way I am thinking. Becoming more personal and retrospective type.

I came across the first two blogss something I had read before but wanted to blog. Its on Networking style or something that MSN research calls ‘Anatomy of Modern Friendship‘. It talk about different friendship patterns (especially among Brits). I think there might be couple of more categories for Indians.

  • Friendship Cultivators – friends mean a lot to them and they spend a significant amount of their time nurturing friendships. They’re always arranging get togethers and are in constant touch with friends online and on the phone
  • Friendship Pruners – make and drop friends quickly according to how useful they are. Friendship Pruners name drop a lot – they like to be seen to be in social contact with the ‘in crowd’. They hate ‘dead wood’ so frequently prune names from their diaries, online buddy lists and mobile phones
  • Friendship Harvesters – tend to have a very wide circle of friends that they get in touch with on a seasonal basis. They’re happy to leave long periods without contact and typically dedicate a set period of time every few weeks or months to a flurry of contact to keep up to date with friends’ news and gossip
  • Friendship Gatherers – are quick to make friends but the least proactive at maintaining friendships. They gather friends wherever they go but are socially lazy and once friendship has been established they rely on the other party to keep it going. They often seek out Friendship Cultivators so they can ride on the back of their frequent social contact and arrangements.

Now which category do I Fall? Well I would say its related to my mood. And I moved from one zone to another over age as well. By default I am a Cultivator. Sometimes a Gatherer. And I sometimes become a Pruner if I feel I have too many suddenly or realize a bunch of people don’t respond back. I have never been able to be a Harvestor – too much time and planning. Its got to be Natural if you ask me! I realized Prnuing is needed especially after my Bipolar episode!

Published by: vinu

My life - BREESY! :-) :D Beautiful Random Enjoyable Eventful Simple Yellow Places I have lived (chronological): (country) (- state) (-- city) India - (Orissa) -- Cuttack (2yrs) -- Bhubaneshwar (3yrs) - (Maharastra) -- Bombay/Mumbai (8 + 1 yrs) - (TamilNadu) -- Madras/Chennai (6 yrs) - (Pondicherry) (1 yr) United States - (California) -- Berkeley (3 yrs) Education : IIT Madras 02, UC Berkeley 05 Work Experience: Mechanical Engineer at FORD Motor Company, India; Management Trainee at Datamatics Technologies Ltd.; Wireless Programmer at TeleCommunication Systems Inc. Passions (currently as of Dec 2005): Family, Media (visual / audio), Mobile Systems, Internet, Design Interests: Music, Movies, Photography, Enjoying nature, Playing Violin, Graphics, Business / Entrepreneurship / Managments, Spirituality, Design, Technology, Mobile / Wireless

Categories bipolar, biz, Blogosphere, me1 Comment

One thought on “networking type?”

  1. Harvesting requires too much time and effort? I don’t think so. I think I’m a Harvester who remembers every few months that he needs to call his friends up and does a flurry of phone calls every so often.
    .u2.

Leave a Reply

