Blore street fight

I read Bangalore – A Metro? and was thinking whether I should blog my experience on the road last week. I twittred and got a response from a friend of mine and then decided to blog it.

Last Friday I went out in the afternoon Near Jayanagar 4th block to pay by airtel bill. Parked my bike besides the footpath along with other two wheelers. Took off my helmet and was about to start walking when a Ford Ikon came towards.

The folks in the car said they wanted to park in the shade and told me in kannada to remove my vehicle and park in across the road. As my job was going to take only couple of minutes, I told them they can either wait or find another place (said it in english, hindi and tamil! covers 99% of people). They started shouting & I went to the airtel stall shaking my head.

I came back after 5 minutes and I found the car parked behind my bike and two more 2-wheelers parked such that I cannot take out my vehicle. Now, I sensed there was definitely some trouble in the making! I put on my helmet and then figured if move one of the kinetic honda just slightly out of place, I should be good to go. Immediately I hear one person shouting telling me not to touch the bike and two people come towards me. All the people who came towards me where in the car previously. I tell them not to worry I am just making some way to remove the vehicle and then I will be gone.

But nope. They insist on creating trouble. On person stands in front of me another behind my bike and the more provocative once holding my bike handle and shouting in kannada. I reply back in Tamil and then the whole conversation in totally in tamil. I am suddenly thinking should I be quiet or take my dominating route! Being the hot sweaty sun – I decide to fight it out.

Out comes my Tamil expletives and altercations matching his. My 6 yr stay in my mother tongue land 🙂 coming to use. After some 5 minutes of pointless talk – his only point being I should have listened to someone who has been residing in Bangalore for 20 years!! I whip out my mobile and decide to dial 100 and zippo others are quiet… I am pissed and the airtel doesn’t let my call go through (talk about service after paying your bill :D)

I con others by telling police twice and mention the place I am at when the other person backs off and calms the person who is kind of whacked out. I keep my phone down. The tension eases away and I am off shouting some more tamil words in its purest form 🙂

Frustrations purged out, I feel I have become a bit of a Bangalorean in its so called sense!

BTW – came back and though will list some police numbers in case people find themself in a similar situation – list from Discover Bangalore and online bangalore.

Published by: vinu

My life - BREESY! :-) :D Beautiful Random Enjoyable Eventful Simple Yellow Places I have lived (chronological): (country) (- state) (-- city) India - (Orissa) -- Cuttack (2yrs) -- Bhubaneshwar (3yrs) - (Maharastra) -- Bombay/Mumbai (8 + 1 yrs) - (TamilNadu) -- Madras/Chennai (6 yrs) - (Pondicherry) (1 yr) United States - (California) -- Berkeley (3 yrs) Education : IIT Madras 02, UC Berkeley 05 Work Experience: Mechanical Engineer at FORD Motor Company, India; Management Trainee at Datamatics Technologies Ltd.; Wireless Programmer at TeleCommunication Systems Inc. Passions (currently as of Dec 2005): Family, Media (visual / audio), Mobile Systems, Internet, Design Interests: Music, Movies, Photography, Enjoying nature, Playing Violin, Graphics, Business / Entrepreneurship / Managments, Spirituality, Design, Technology, Mobile / Wireless

Categories india, me, mobile1 Comment

One thought on “Blore street fight”

  1. great . you were lucky. thank god they didnot take any weapon.Your choicest blessings in tamil must have given them a shock.May be your bulk was also in your favour. if police was there you would have been accused because of language discrimination. Police in general side with stronger group. God has taken the situation on hand and given enough strength to you to resist and survive and feel victorious
    road fights can be nasty. pl remember our sardarji cricketer.

Leave a Reply

