Mobile Bill

Well, last month was a Bomb in terms of personal mobile bill 🙂 I usually used to call from my home land line and Dad used to pay the bill 😛 so in a way it was not factored.

Bill Duration: 26 Apr 07 to 25 May 07
Bill Amount: Rs 1450 (wow thats close to $35!) (90% was personal)

I am on Airtel India Roam Plan – as I expected to roam around and call more to my folks and friends in Bombay initially. Well the percentage distribution was like that!! Also I didn’t have GPRS – yet to buy a good phone and hence so savings there 😛

Call Type %
Local Outgoing 26% (200mins!)
STD Outgoing 48%
SMS 6%
Roaming Outgoing 9.5%
Roaming Incoming 10.5%

All this analysis thanks to online airtel bill. Though I don’t like the UI much but I like the facility atleast!

In short – I had spoken 9hrs 53mins and 1 sec 🙂 i.e 600 mins of outgoing not caring about roaming and incoming/outgoing and local or STD. Now by US standard in terms of bucket plans its around $45 for 600 mins (in + out) (nights and weekends free!) – so India is cheaper but not cheap.

I am sure I would have spoken in total 1200 mins last month! – talk about me a vociferous social animal 😉 BTW that largest amount of minutes for me was 2 years back in the US – 3021 mins in March 05! and I paid $55 for that!

Published by: vinu

My life - BREESY! :-) :D Beautiful Random Enjoyable Eventful Simple Yellow Places I have lived (chronological): (country) (- state) (-- city) India - (Orissa) -- Cuttack (2yrs) -- Bhubaneshwar (3yrs) - (Maharastra) -- Bombay/Mumbai (8 + 1 yrs) - (TamilNadu) -- Madras/Chennai (6 yrs) - (Pondicherry) (1 yr) United States - (California) -- Berkeley (3 yrs) Education : IIT Madras 02, UC Berkeley 05 Work Experience: Mechanical Engineer at FORD Motor Company, India; Management Trainee at Datamatics Technologies Ltd.; Wireless Programmer at TeleCommunication Systems Inc. Passions (currently as of Dec 2005): Family, Media (visual / audio), Mobile Systems, Internet, Design Interests: Music, Movies, Photography, Enjoying nature, Playing Violin, Graphics, Business / Entrepreneurship / Managments, Spirituality, Design, Technology, Mobile / Wireless

Categories bipolar, india, me, mobile1 Comment

One thought on “Mobile Bill”

  1. Interesting analysis. By virtue of being on an unlimited family plan, I rarely track the amount of time we spend on the phone. My monthly phone bill is $50 (two lines, 500 minutes) + $10 (third line) + $6 (gprs/edge) + $4 (sms bundle) .
    We rarely use the entire 500 minutes since all calls to other t-mobile subscribers are free!

Leave a Reply

