Guess what I did

I got a mail from my friend Vijay who is spending his first Independence day on foreign soil at Singapore and he wrote this lovely mail:

Hi!!!!!!!

Today morning, I had been to the Indian High Commission in Singapore
where they had held a get-together on the eve of Independence day.
There was a flag hoisting by the High Commissioner, who read out the
Indian President’s speech.

Then, a cultural society here called the ‘Temple of Fine arts’
rendered Bankim Chandra Chatopadhyay’s most famous composition- ‘Vande
Mataram’. And the song was so melodious and beautiful that the slow,
lilting tunes are still ringing in my ears. It was particularly
poignant for me, being the first Independence day that I was standing
on foreign soil. That one moment, listening to the lovely composition
that must have etched itself in so many minds across generations and
with thoughts drifting back to what India meant to me, and the gentle
lyrics “suhaasinim sumadhurabhaashhinim sukhadaam varadaam
maataram….vande maataram..”, made for an experience, which will
remain unforgettable…Felt so good about this that I really wanted to
share it with you..

Take care,
Me

I wrote back saying today what I did on august 15th truly (I am not that proud!). I had plans of waking up early; take my DSLR and go trotting around Colaba. Noone of which became a reality.

Guess what I did :-)

saw ‘Bheja Fry’ till 1am. Read Tyrst with Destiny twice at 2am.
Chatted with my girl in Delhi for 2 hrs. slept at 4am.

Woke up at 12:30 pm. Didn’t step out of my house the entire day.
Didn’t look at any Indian Flag. No speech ;P or vande Mataram songs.
Saw ‘The Good German’. Waved through the newspaper. Read two books -
“Made to Stick” and “The five dysfunctions of a Team”. Saw two
episodes of LOST. Lovely aaloo curry and thair sadam. Caught up with
some friends. Wrote feeling patriotic on facebook (which I was).

Guess, it was just ‘me’ of being ‘Indian’, ‘independent’ and ‘enjoying
freedom’ in my own lazy unproductive way!

Vanakkam,
mein ;-P

But I think I would love to finish the post with these two pic, two things that really matter to me, my life and India:
My Mom
IMG_9498
and my love for the nation (the pic is a metaphor, the candle is still not burning; light is yet to come!)
IMG_9739

Leave a Reply

