Life Bytes

Was wondering about how cool it would be record every second of one’s life what it would physically. Open a online spreadsheet and landed with this calculation

Life Bytes

If I store in MP3 i.e Stereo sound quality and assuming a average lifespan of 80 years, we just need 40 TB ( 1TB = 1024 GB) and it would cost just $10,000!! Would I be interested in such a service and would I pay this … hellya! Fast forward, year 2020 would I like to know with whom I was spend most of my time talking and what I was talking? Am I ready to $125 i.e Rs 5000 per year for that … sure! I think this is some killer service atleast the phone operators are missing.

Next lets take video – mpeg divX quality – Its just another order more. If I have a necklace attached to my neck and it records audio + video + acceleration + temp variation + pollution levels I am exposed => Do I have potential use of it? Sure! Does the technology exist for something like that? Yes. What would be the cost of the gadget i.e hardware max $300 (some of the hardware platform is also open sourced) what missing is the service angle. I think in another decade this is going to be a reality.

Yes, privacy laws and security become a concern but I will definitely value what I did in my twenties and thirties a lot when I can personally re-experience it when i am 50! Only concern with this business idea – upfront capital cost + maintenance cost. If we can get people on a monthly plan – I feel this can be resolved 😀 What do you say??

Published by: vinu

My life - BREESY! :-) :D Beautiful Random Enjoyable Eventful Simple Yellow Places I have lived (chronological): (country) (- state) (-- city) India - (Orissa) -- Cuttack (2yrs) -- Bhubaneshwar (3yrs) - (Maharastra) -- Bombay/Mumbai (8 + 1 yrs) - (TamilNadu) -- Madras/Chennai (6 yrs) - (Pondicherry) (1 yr) United States - (California) -- Berkeley (3 yrs) Education : IIT Madras 02, UC Berkeley 05 Work Experience: Mechanical Engineer at FORD Motor Company, India; Management Trainee at Datamatics Technologies Ltd.; Wireless Programmer at TeleCommunication Systems Inc. Passions (currently as of Dec 2005): Family, Media (visual / audio), Mobile Systems, Internet, Design Interests: Music, Movies, Photography, Enjoying nature, Playing Violin, Graphics, Business / Entrepreneurship / Managments, Spirituality, Design, Technology, Mobile / Wireless

Categories genZ, life, technology5 Comments

5 thoughts on “Life Bytes”

  1. i am assuming this would require some kickass data center .. but would be cool.. i am sure google would be ready to buy this idea.. ! 😀

  2. Interesting thought.. jst imagine all those celebs auctioning thier private time on ebay!!bt on the flip side it cud lead serious breach of privacy !!
    on a personal i wud lov to record my life nd c wat i made of it!
    hind sight is a beautiful thing 🙂
    cheers..

Leave a Reply

