Diminishing Pain

Howard Cutler and (some google books by him)

To diminish the suffering of pain, we need to make a crucial distinction between the pain of pain, and the pain we create by our thoughts about the pain. Fear, anger, guilt, loneliness and helplessness are all mental and emotional responses that can intensify the pain

Strange, just realized thanks to wordpress I am reading the quote again and felt like blogging it. Last time it was Jan 30, 2008 – 2 months after I returned from the US! Also had a photo taken of a co-passenger lost in deep thought. Possibly I was still experiencing pain. This time I am out of it (finally after 15 odd months) and would have to say I have experienced the quote truly. Around a year back, I came to the same conclusion on my own 🙂 Possibly absolute truths are best when self-realised 😀 strange uh? deja vu!

Published by: vinu

My life - BREESY! :-) :D Beautiful Random Enjoyable Eventful Simple Yellow Places I have lived (chronological): (country) (- state) (-- city) India - (Orissa) -- Cuttack (2yrs) -- Bhubaneshwar (3yrs) - (Maharastra) -- Bombay/Mumbai (8 + 1 yrs) - (TamilNadu) -- Madras/Chennai (6 yrs) - (Pondicherry) (1 yr) United States - (California) -- Berkeley (3 yrs) Education : IIT Madras 02, UC Berkeley 05 Work Experience: Mechanical Engineer at FORD Motor Company, India; Management Trainee at Datamatics Technologies Ltd.; Wireless Programmer at TeleCommunication Systems Inc. Passions (currently as of Dec 2005): Family, Media (visual / audio), Mobile Systems, Internet, Design Interests: Music, Movies, Photography, Enjoying nature, Playing Violin, Graphics, Business / Entrepreneurship / Managments, Spirituality, Design, Technology, Mobile / Wireless

Categories life, quotes